International Women’s Day

I’d class myself as a feminist, but the fact that growing up, I never really knew women were seen to be unequal to men. It wasn’t until I hit my teens that I noticed that not everyone treated females the same as males.

And today, I just want to be outwardly thankful that my family, female and male, brought me up in a manner that showed me that my gender did not define who I should be, what I should do, and what I should accept for my life.

I also want to say that I am grateful that I come from generations of strong women, and that it seems to have rubbed off on me. You don’t know how strong you are until you face adversity, and it turns out that I’m managing it pretty well.

Someone told me recently that I was flying the flag for those who couldn’t. They made me cry, in the supermarket of all places. I rarely cry, no matter how hard things get. And it was someone I love telling me that I had done something special that was my undoing.

That person is someone I love dearly, and whose opinion I respect. I am glad that I’ve done her proud, and that in my small way I am doing something that says “just because I am female, doesn’t mean that I am less”.

I am lucky that I have strong women to look up to, who have always believed in me, always backed my decisions. I am lucky that I have strong men to look up to who have done the same, and don’t treat women as less deserving, or as possessions. Because it is both strong women and strong men, together, who can buck the trend, and change the future of our world, not just for our daughters, but for our sons as well.

Leave a Reply

